Residents of Alaska can apply for a Medical Marijuana Registry card through the state’s Department of Health and Social Services, as regulated by Alaska Statute 17.37.010.
Who can qualify?
To be eligible for a Medical Marijuana card in Alaska you must have one of these debilitating medical conditions:
- Test positive for HIV or AIDS
- Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Persistent muscle spasms
How much does it cost?
Applying for a medical marijuana card in Alaska costs $25 for a new application and $20 for a renewal of an unexpired card. Money orders or checks are accepted, made payable to the Bureau of Vital Statistics. Checks must be preprinted with the applicant’s name and address. There is a $30 penalty for returned checks.
How do I apply?
Applying for the Marijuana License in Alaska has a 5 step process:
1. Complete the state application form, making sure to including:
- Applicant’s name, physical and mailing address, date of birth, and Alaska driver’s license number or Alaska identification card number
- Name, address and telephone number of the patient’s recommending physician
- Name and address of patient’s primary and secondary caregivers, if applicable
- Applicant’s signature
- Signature from a witness present at the time of signing
2. Get written consent from a parent or legal guardian, if the applicant is a minor, stating that they will serve as the primary caregiver and that the minor can engage in medical marijuana use
3. Include an original, signed statement from the patient’s physician. It must confirm that the patient is diagnosed with one of the approved debilitating medical conditions and show the physician’s conclusion that the patient will benefit from medical marijuana use
4. Pay application fee
5. Mail the completed application, required documentation, and payment to the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Make sure your application is complete before submitting. If it’s denied for any reason you will not be allowed to re-apply for 6 months.