The Arizona Department of Health Services has an online application to obtain a medical marijuana card. There are two separate application processes for minors and adults. Minors require a parent or legal guardian to act as their primary caregiver.
Who is eligible?
To be legally eligible for a Medical Marijuana card in Arizona you must have one of the following medical conditions, as attested to by your physician:
- Hepatitis C
- Crohn’s Disease
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
- Severe and chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms, like those caused by multiple sclerosis
How much does a Medical Marijuana card cost?
$150 that must be paid online with a Visa or MasterCard.
How do I apply?
Applying for an Arizona Medical Marijuana card requires the following steps:
1. Print and review the Qualifying Patient Checklist, it will tell you all the information and documents required to complete the online application, including:
- Patients information
- Identification number and copy of their Arizona driver’s license, identification card, registry card, or passport
- Mailing address and e-mail
- Physician’s information, including license number and type
- Caregiver information, if applicable
- A current photograph of the patient’s face
- SNAP documentation if applicable
- A Visa or MasterCard for payment
2. Print the Medical Marijuana Physician Certification form, take it to your physician and have them complete it
3. Print and complete the Medical Marijuana Patient Attestation
4. When you begin the online application you will be asked to upload the required documentation
5. After paying the application fee of $150 you should save your application number and submission date to find your application later
6. If the application is approved you will receive a notification by email. If there is missing information you will be asked to resubmit your application.
7. Your Medical Marijuana Registry Identification Card will be mailed to you
In addition to applying for a card, patients are also able to apply for a permit to cultivate medical marijuana if the patient lives more than 25 miles from a dispensary. The application is still subject to approval based on your county and city zoning laws.