The Illinois Department of Public Health offers a Medical Cannabis Patient Registry program. Applications can be submitted by mail or online through the Medical Cannabis Pilot Program. Patients diagnosed with a terminal illness must apply by mail.
Who can qualify?
In order to be eligible for an Illinois Medical Marijuana Card you must be a resident of Illinois and 18 years of age or older, or have a parent or guardian apply to the Designated Caregiver Registry. You cannot be an active duty law enforcement officer, correctional officer, correctional probation officer, or firefighter. And you cannot have been convicted of an excluded offense (this includes felonies under the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act). You must also be diagnosed with one of the following conditions:
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Arnold-Chiari malformation
- Chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy
- Crohn’s disease
- CRPS (complex regional pain syndrome Type II)
- Fibrous Dysplasia
- Hepatitis C
- Interstitial cystitis
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Myasthenia Gravis
- Nail-patella syndrome
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-Concussion Syndrome
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Reflex sympathetic dystrophy
- Residual limb pain
- Rheumatoid arthritis
- Seizures (including those characteristic of Epilepsy)
- Severe fibromyalgia
- Sjogren’s syndrome
- Spinal cord disease (including but not limited to arachnoiditis)
- Spinal cord injury is damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
- Spinocerebellar ataxia
- Tarlov cysts
- Tourette syndrome
- Traumatic brain injury
- Cachexia/wasting syndrome
How much does it cost?
Patient application fees are the following:
$100 – One-year card
$200 – Two-year card
$250 – Three-year card
Patients that qualify for a reduced application fee can receive a 50% fee reduction.
Designated Caregiver fees are the following:
$25 – One year card
$50 – Two year card
$75 – Separate caregiver application when their patient has already received a card
How do I apply?
To apply for an Illinois Medical Marijuana card do the following:
- Visit with your physician and have them submit a Written Certification Form to the Division of Medical Cannabis. Your application must be received no later than 90 days after the certification form is submitted.
- Gather the required documents including a passport-type photograph of the patient’s face, two proofs of residency, identification, a signed Fingerprint Consent Form (with TCN) and a receipt from the livescan fingerprint vendor dated no more than 30 days from the time of application
- Complete a patient application, and a caregiver application if applicable,
- Pay the application fee
Visit our State Guide for more information on getting a Medical Marijuana Card in your State.You’ll find a list of qualifying medical conditions and steps to successfully submit an application.