An application process has not yet been finalized, but the Maine Marijuana Legalization Act lays out the requirements for qualification.
Who is eligible?
To apply for a retail marijuana establishment or retail marijuana social club license all owners must:
- Be 21 years of age or older. All members of the board, if applicable, must also meet this requirement
- Not have been convicted in the past 10 years of violating a controlled substance law that is punishable with 5 years or more of prison time.
- Not have had a retail marijuana license revoked in the past
- Not be a prosecuting officer, police officer, deputy sheriff or sheriff, or an officer or employee of the state licensing authority or of a municipality
- Submit fingerprints
The business applicant must also:
- Submit a site plan, operating plan and evidence of experience in the marijuana industry in Maine
- Show that the premises being licensed is not within 1,000 feet of a location which was denied for the same class of license in the past 2 years
- Submit proof of legal possession of the premises being licensed
How Much Does it Cost?
Application fees have not been finalized
How Do I Apply?
An application process has not been finalized.
Visit our State Guide for more information on getting a Marijuana License in your State.