The state of Massachusetts will begin to offer a marijuana business license in July of 2018. An application process has not been finalized but the Cannabis Control Commission document explains the requirements that will be in place.
To apply for a Massachusetts Marijuana License:
- The premises being licensed must not be within 500 feet of a school
- No owner, director, or shareholder can have a felony conviction, except in the case of a marijuana offense or unlawful possession of a controlled substance. If they have been convicted, the offense cannot involve distribution of a controlled substance to a minor.
- The license must be permitted by the local jurisdiction
How much does it cost?
Application fees have not been finalized but they are not to exceed $15,000 for a retail store, manufacturing, or cultivation license, and not to exceed $10,000 for a marijuana testing facility.
How do I apply?
When the state does begin accepting applications in 2018, preference will be given to those with the most experience operating a medical marijuana treatment center. After that, qualified applicants will receive a license as decided by lottery.
Visit our State Guide for more information on getting a Marijuana License in your State.