Medical Marijuana Cards are available in Utah through the Department of Health’s Hemp Registry program. Applications must be submitted in-person or by mail. If approved for the program a patient will be able to obtain “Hemp Extract” which is similar to Cannabidiol and is defined as a preparation or mixture that contains no more than 0.3% THC and no less than 15% CBD by weight.
Who is eligible?
To be eligible for a Hemp Extract Registration Card in Utah you must be a resident of the state and 18 years of age or older, or have a parent/guardian complete the application. You must also be diagnosed with “Intractable Epilepsy” which is defined as epilepsy that does not respond to three or more treatments as determined by a neurologist.
How much does it cost?
There is a $200 application fee. Renewals cost $50.
How do I apply?
To apply for a Utah Medical Marijuana Card complete the following steps:
- Visit with your neurologist and have them fill out a Neurologist Certification Form, Patient Evaluation Record Form, and Patient Medical History Form. They must also submit your information to the Office of Vital Records and Statistics database.
- Gather required documents, including a copy of your state-issued ID and proof of residency.
- Print and complete an Application for Hemp Extract Registration Card
- Pay the $200 application fee. If mailing the application it can be paid by check or money order. If submitting the application in-person it can be paid with a credit/debit card, cash, check, or money order.
- Submit the application, required documents and payment by mail or in-person to the Utah Office of Vital Records and Statistics
After obtaining hemp extract in Utah you must also abide by the state’s possession laws. A ‘Certificate of Analysis’ must be obtained from the seller and kept with the hemp extract at all times.